Melki encounters glory

Shepherd monologue – Christmas 2022

Let me introduce myself – I’m Melki – the lads call me milky, they think that’s hilarious, because I’m a shepherd, not a dairy farmer and I make a bit of a mess of the milking.

Have you tried mailing a sheep? Not easy

believe me – not as hard as milking a Goat, though.

If you want a goat – you’ll get Messy.

Melki is an old family name – I’m from the tribe of Benjamin,  I’m from Bethlehem. The great city of David. I mean I say city, it’s a village really.

You’ve probably heard of it – bit of a nothing place really – except for all the old prophecies,  like Micah saying that the Messiah will come from our little town, or Isaiah talking about the Root of Jesse. 

I guess our great local hero King David was a Bethlehem boy – so anything is possible.

– the greatest king of them all – he started out like me – a little Shepherd boy.

I guess that’s a bit like a fisherman from Galilee becoming Pope or something.

Anyway  – I want to tell you about what happened last night.

 “Oh my God!!”

Oh, it doesn’t seem right to say that now.

I was never really sure about the God stuff before – but now, he’s real – let me tell you – he’s real.

So I was out on the hills – Dad had sent me out, again. 

We were all out there – a bunch of us, the young lads – it was a fairly mild night, not much going on.

Suddenly there’s this being right in front of us.

HUGE! – about 10ft tall – brightest light I’ve ever seen. – had a huge broad sword in his hand. 

– So scary. – We were absolutely terrified.

There are different types of fear aren’t there.  

I have to admit – I get scared quite a lot out there on the hills.

There’s the danger of disease, when you see one of the sheep come out of the brook with a leech on it’s leg.  

Or the nasty shock when a creepy-crawley comes out of their wool.

Or when you go to town and see a Roman archer on the walls – defending the city, but think your sheep could be his target practice. 

There’s always a bit of fear with the lads mucking around, you can get hit by them throwing sheep poo if you don’t duck it in time.  I can’t bear stone throwing though – that’s not great. 

Or when someone stokes the fire and a whole loads of sparks fly up.

The light from this angel – much brighter than that & it was a totally different type of fear.  Just this deep terror – we were all frozen still gazing. 
I was thinking of all the bad stuff I’ve done – he looked like he knew about it all.  This was it… 

It’s so hard to describe – there was this awesomeness to him.  So huge, so powerful, so bright  lit up the whole hillside — yet something in those eyes. 

Glory – that’s the word for it.

Not a word we shepherd boys use much really, glory.

I mean…  we play this game, we’ve got an old pig’s bladder we fill with air – we’re not supposed to touch pigs, so we kick it around.

We put two lots of cloaks down with a gap between them, and then see which group can get past the other and try to kick it between the cloaks – we see who can do it the most – it’ll never catch on.

I prefer the one where someone throws a ball of cow’s leather and you have to try and hit it – much more fun.

But when someone kicks the pigs bladder perfectly, or hits the ball past someone  – they think that’s glory. 

That’s not glory .

 this was different – this was something so beautiful – majestic and yet so full of life. – I guess that’s what glory is.

Then he spoke and the first thing he said was 

“Don’t be afraid”

– which was crazy, but the minute I heard his voice – the fear left me.  

Such a rich, deep tone to his voice – once I realised he was with us – that he had come to help us not tell us off – weirdly – it was all ok.

A bunch of naughty shepherd boys, sent out of town, social rejects.

When someone important talk to folks like us – it’s usually because we’re in trouble. – but he had come to us and… sounds crazy, but I think he’d chosen us.

I have never felt so safe – just knowing that he was on our side. 

Never need to be afraid of anything, ever again.

Next thing – he tells us that it’s happened – the Messiah has been born. 

The Saviour.

Now, a I said, we’re Bethlehem Shepherds – we know all about Messiahs.  

We grew up on the ancient prophecies, every time a local boy becomes a great warrior – we wonder if they’ll be the one, but they never are,

But currently – The Romans still rule, Herod is still corrupt, 

I guess I always thought we’d know who the Messiah was once they’d proven themselves, won some battles – raised an army, started a campaign,  to reclaim David’s throne. 

But this news blew us away – the great news of hope – God’s saviour  –  born as a baby.  And the angels already knew – he was the One.

And believe me – we weren’t going to argue theology with that angel

Then, as if that wasn’t crazy enough – the whole sky was full of them. Hundreds of these angels – all bright and burning full of light.

Absolute scenes!

A few years ago, I went up to the capital – Jerusalem.  We have a rich cousin – he’s a Rabbi, so we call him Robin.  He has a beautiful daughter, and a son – It was his son’s wedding.

My parents took me to the temple – we even took a lamb for a sacrifice as part of the wedding.  It was amazing – huge, and so much gold and light and noise.  And the wealth of those Romans and all their armour & chariots. 

Robin’s son’s wedding was amazing too – they’re rich, so there was all this fancy food and music – the Almonds were to die for.

But all that – was nothing compared to those angels – I’ve never seen anything like it.

They started singing:

‘Glory to God in the highest’ – there is it – that word again. Glory.

I don’t know much about these things and I’m rubbish with words. 

But if that’s what God’s glory is – I’m in.  

It was just spectacular, I felt so alive.

I was totally caught up in the moment, yet more aware of who I am than ever before.

I realised how tiny I am and yet it was like my heart and my courage expanded as they sang 

I felt so privileged that we got to see it – that we, shepherds, were chosen for this news.

All I wanted to do, was find out more about this good news they were telling us about.   Well you couldn’t stop us.  We rounded up the sheep – got them safe and set off to town.

Took us a while to find them – loads of visitors in town for the census.  I guess the tribe of Benjamin has spread out a bit. Cousins everywhere.

But once we found them – Mind blown!

There they were – this Lovely couple – I think they were called, Joseph and Mary.  And their baby was just there – in a manger, nothing special, just a feeding trough, made of wood. 

Now, I’m not really into babies – messy, cry-ey little things.

They all look a bit alike, everyone gets a bit goo-ey about them, but I’m a teenage lad, they’re an ugly little bundle of flesh and random hair.

But this one! – Wow.

Back on the hills – we’d heard the angels singing ‘glory’ – and they were glorious – the fire, the light, the sound.

But this… the sparkley eyes of this little thing 

the sense around him

I wish I could describe it to you, it was like… like… that word ‘glory’ again.

You’ll think I’m weird – it was just a baby.  

But I wanted to start my life all over again – in that place.

To give the rest of my life to telling people about him, letting everyone know that I’ve found hope, that there is a future. 

That’s why I’m here telling you this – I’ve found him – he’s the one!

We all felt it.  I mean the lads and me, we’ve had our moments.  

Plenty of sheep poo dropped into my brew, no one listening, 

There’s the trips, I’m often the target, I get laughed at for all my wrong answers up more times that you can imagine, had the odd sheep stolen, fights over girls in the village, all that stuff.  

I always felt a bit on the edge of the group really – they laughed at Melki, the banter got brutal at times.  I always felt a misfit amongst the folks I the village.

Most of us have been chucked out by our families – so we’re a rough bunch. 

But in that little room, it’s all changed – we experienced family, 

we experienced what it meant to be loved – accepted.  

I don’t know what will happen to that little baby – but I believe those angels – 

he’s the real deal. 

Leave a comment